Books of 2012, and looking ahead to 2013

Every year, I set myself a reading goal. For 2012, it was to read 60 books, and sadly, I didn’t make that goal – close, but no cigar. Part of that was because I was reading a lot of non-fiction, which I read more slowly than fiction. Another part was that I was reading a lot of writing craft books, and with those, I find I need time to read, digest, read, digest, make notes, go back, re-read, digest.

But, also, if I’m being real, I spent WAY too much time on the wrong things last year. I’m not a resolution maker, but I do think I’m going to make thinking about what I’m spending my time on a theme for 2013.

Now, as for the books I read last year, the following list represents the books I finished (as opposed to ones I put down midway through), and any book with an asterix (a star for those who get that!) is one I enjoyed. But, to simplify, my particular favs were:

ALAMUT – Judith Tarr
WHEN THE SEA IS RISING RED – Cat Hellisen
CHIME – Franny Billingsley
RIVER IN THE DESERT – Paul William Roberts
HALF-BREED – Maria Campbell
and, with extra stars, THE RETURNING – Christine Hinwood

This year, I’m aiming for sixty books again…so, we’ll see.

Now, onto the books I read in 2012!:

* HOW TO GROW A NOVEL – Sol Stein
THE MAID – Kimberley Cutter
* ALAMUT – Judith Tarr
ALCESTIS – Katharine Beutner
IMAGINARY GIRLS – Nova Ren Suma
SALTED: A MANIFESTO – Mark Bitterman
SAVING JUNE – Hannah Harrington
HERE LIES ARTHUR – Philip REEVE
THE APOTHECARY – Maile Meloy
WITCHLANDERS – Lena Coakley
* CHIME – Franny Billingsley
TEN CENTS A DANCE – Christine Fletcher
* THE WAND IN THE WORD – ed. Leonard Marcus
MORTAL ENGINES – Philip Reeve
THE GIRL WITH THE GLASS FEET – Ali Shaw
* A VERY LONG ENGAGEMENT – Sebastian Japrisot
* WHEN THE SEA IS RISING RED – Cat Hellisen
SNAP – Alison McGhee
THE GRAVEYARD BOOK – Neil Gaiman
GEORGE’S MARVELLOUS MEDICINE – Roald Dahl
WAY TO GO – Tom Ryan
THERE IS NO DOG – Meg Rosoff
THE RIGHT AND THE REAL – Joelle Anthony
* A COALITION OF LIONS – Elizabeth Wein
THE INVENTION OF HUGO CABRET – Brian Selznick
WOLF BLOOD – N.M. Browne
* THE WICKED AND THE JUST – J. Anderson Coats
* RIVER IN THE DESERT – Paul William Roberts
EXODUS – Julie Bertagna
* PLEASE IGNORE VERY DEITZ – A.S. King
* THE RETURNING – Chistine Hinwood (plus a couple extra **, because this was my fav of the year)
* DEALING WITH DRAGONS – Patricia Wrede
CONCEIT – Mary Novik
THE HIPPOPOTAMUS MARSH – Pauline Gedge
* HALF-BREED – Maria Campbell
HOW TO TELL A MYTH – Robert Walker
HOW TO TELL A LEGEND – Janet Stone
A REALLY GOOD BROWN GIRL – Marilyn Dumont
THE NIGHT WANDERER – Drew Hayden Taylor
WHAT’S THE MOST BEAUTIFUL THING YOU KNOW ABOUT HORSES? – Richard Van Camp
SPIRIT GIFIT: THE CONCEPT OF SPIRITUAL EXCHANGE – Elmer Ghostkeeper
THE NEW PEOPLE: BEING & BECOMING METIS IN NORTH AMERICA – ed. Peterson & Brown
THE LONG JOURNEY OF A FORGOTTEN PEOPLE: METIS IDENTITIES AND FAMILY HISTORIES – ed. Lishke & McNab
BONE DANCE – Martha Brooks
AMELIA ANNE IS DEAD AND GONE – Kat Rosenfield
A MONSTER CALLS – Patrick Ness
* RELATIVES WITH ROOTS – Leah Maria Dorion
THE GATHERING: STONES FOR THE MEDICINE WHEEL – Gregory Scofield
THE BOOK OF THREE – Lloyd Alexander
THE CLOUD ROADS – Martha Wells

And, while I’m at it: a huge thank you to everyone out there for all your support this past year. Bringing SHADOWS CAST BY STARS into the world was one of the most challenging things I’ve ever done, and 2012, for me, was a year of struggle. It would have been a whole lot more struggly if it weren’t for the well wishes, kind reviews, and general support from my friends, readers, and family. Thank you so much for that.

And, before I go, today’s walk took me down to the oceanside, where I saw this beauty:

free web page hit counter

6 thoughts on “Books of 2012, and looking ahead to 2013

  1. Anenome love!

    Thanks so much for including my book on your list of faves. :D I also adored Chime, so now I need to go check out those others.

    • Thank *you* for writing such a great book, and I can’t wait to read more of your work! (I think you might find THE RETURNING quite interesting….)

Leave a Reply

