Digging Out

I’m a great believer in fallow time. We creative types need it, and if we try to go too long without letting our fields have a rest, well, anything that grows tends to be thin and feeble and weak. I think that’s the stage I was at just after Christmas – brittle, hollow, worn to the nub. So, I gave myself a gift: fallow time.

Fallow time for me has been about getting lots of exercising, re-dedicating myself to my yoga practice (isn’t it funny how you can know something’s good for you and know that you need to do it, but at the same time, find a bazillion ways to talk yourself out of doing that good thing?), and reading. And watching movies. And thinking.

It’s also been about being kind to myself and not doing anything that leaves me feeling bad, which, as it turns out, is easier said than done. I’ve been amazed at how many things I do out of obligation, rather than because they bring me any sense of pleasure. I mean, I know everything can’t be happy-happy-joy-joy all the time, but shouldn’t it be *some* of the time?

Anyhow.

Today finds me feeling at peace with a lot of things – even the major snarl in my life that doesn’t seem to be going away anytime soon. But, after giving myself a little break to rest and heal up, I feel….buoyed, I guess.

I was very sad to hear about the passing about Blue Hors Matinee and P.K. Page, though. It always gives me pause when I hear news like this. I wish I could have met them both.

Hope everyone out there is happy and well…

free web page hit counter

Leave a Reply

