February Reads

Coventry by Helen Humphreys, a slim novel about the bombing of…well, Coventry. Harrowing, and yet…not quite as immersing as I had hoped. Oh well.

Writing the Breakout Novel by Donald Maass. This was a useful book on a craft level, so I’ll be revisiting it. More than that, it substantially increased my to-be-read pile!

Booklife by Jeff Vandermeer. Another useful book that answered a lot of questions about living a writer’s life. Also, I was pleased to find an interview it with with my lovely agent, Diana Fox, so that’s always a bonus!

When the Body Says No by Dr. Gabor Maté. This book was a wake-up call. A scary one. But, needed, I think. Not for the faint of heart, but I’d definitely recommend it for anyone who struggles with stress and its weird effects on the body.

The Body Sacred by Diane Sylvan. This book had me laughing out loud at times and was a nice counterpoint to the above book (similar topics in some instances, but from a different point of view.). I wish this book existed when I was a teen…

The War Diary of Clare Gass by Clare Gass. Reading anyone’s diary is eerie, but the diary of a nurse who served in the hospitals of World War One? Very eerie – not because her descriptions were horrific, but because of the lack of such thing. Dunno. Reading this was a very emotional experience.

Anyhow, thus ends February. Onwards to March!

free web page hit counter

One thought on “February Reads

  1. I found WRITING THE BREAKOUT NOVEL to be a daunting book in some ways, because it’s another one of those things where you say, “Gee, does my book fit all of this criteria?” and you start worrying that you haven’t written it “right.” I do think it’s useful, but I found I had to stop worrying about what I wasn’t doing “right” in my writing process so I could actually get on with writing. 🙂

    Looks like you’ve been reading some body books. I don’t know if I could read the scary one–I don’t want to freak myself out too much. 🙂

Leave a Reply

