Crawling out of the Cave…

So, it’s been a while since I updated my blog. Oops. However, I blame life-interference – lots has gone on in the last, oh, five years, I’d say. And, May 2011 turned out to be like the Coles Notes version of all the ups and downs of those five years – like the last hurrah at the end of a cycle.

Anyhow, I’m chalking it all up to life lessons, ya know? What doesn’t kill me makes me stronger – that sort of thing. And I do believe that – someday, I’ll look back and say, yes. All of that needed to happen so that I would be ready for where I am now.

However, in the present, my daily mantra has been “All will be well, and all will be well, and all manner of things will be well,” a little prayer borrowed from Julian of Norwich, a 14th century anchoret. Easy for her to say – she walled herself up in a cell so she could devote her days to prayer and not have to deal with the rollercoaster of regular life!

But, getting back to this blog, the trouble is…I don’t know what to say. I keep thinking, what do I know, or what have I experienced, that could possibly be of interest to anyone? I think a great deal about the division between author and book. I read a quote a while back that went like this “An author in his book must be like God in the universe, present everywhere and visible nowhere.” (Gustave Flaubert, FYI), and yeah, I agree with that. So where does that leave an author in this day and age where we’re encouraged to have an online presence? Does that online presence muddy the waters, so to speak? I can’t help thinking it does, and yet, here I am, writing a blog post, ruminating about…well, I don’t even know!

Initially when I created this blog, I intended to write about the writing life, how to live and breathe creativity, but the thing is, I’m not sure I know all that much about that, and there are lots of other writers who do, and have written wonderful books that convey so much knowledge and wisdom about how to live this strange life we artistic types live. It’s not easy, let me tell you, though I suspect I’m preaching to the masses here. And, most of what I know about living a creative life comes through the filters of being a musician, not a writer.

So where does that leave me? I’m not sure. Ha, how’s that for a revelation? I guess the thing is that really, life isn’t divisible into neat boxes – the “creative” box, and the “laundry” box (which is very full at the moment), and the “family” box – it’s more like a washing machine full of unsorted clothes, all tumbling around together, muddling up colours, so when you take the clothes out, you discover your white pillowcases are now pink, but that’s okay, because pink is a nice colour too, right?

Anyhow, the long and the short of it is that I’m going to try to write something here on a weekly basis. I don’t know what (I’m open to suggestions!), but what I hope I’ll accomplish, even if it’s on the smallest of scales, is to help others find their way through the murky woods…where all sorts of stories lurk in the shadows, waiting, waiting…

(Oh, and just because, here’s my cat hiding in the garden…)

Photobucket

free web page hit counter

14 thoughts on “Crawling out of the Cave…

    1. Kristin, yeah, it’s a good one, isn’t it? See what I mean about people out there who are far wiser than I am? πŸ™‚

  1. Ah, the washing machine of life…. A very good analogy, actually!

    I love that “all shall be well” prayer, too — it’s one of John’s favourites, and in one of my rare try-to-be-artistic moments I did a calligraphy thing of it and framed it for him.

    Nice to see you back in the blogosphere…. πŸ™‚

    1. First stew, now washing machines….perhaps I missed my calling? πŸ™‚

      I like the idea of doing some calligraphy for that prayer – might just have to copy you on that…

  2. Gorgeous kitty you have there. Reminds me of a lolcat photo: “CAMOUFLAGE: You’re safe until someone mows.” πŸ™‚

    I’ve been thinking about this a lot myself. Forget that I’m not much published yet, but if I blogged about the writing life what do I really have that is new and unique to contribute? What I can do, however, is blog from my little corner of reality, about the things that matter to me. (Which sometimes, is writing, but I am not defined by writing alone.)

    I agree with everyone else – that’s a beautiful mantra. All will be well. Best of luck with your postings!

  3. Glad to have you back in the blogosphere. When I started blogging (can it be three years ago, really???) I wasn’t sure what I could write about that would be of any interest, but my “musings on life and writing” have survived, and I’m as surprised as anyone. I’m sure your words will come, too.

    P.S. I love your new look here. πŸ˜‰

  4. Kitty! (I can see his little bell, lol! It must be the bane of his hunting existence!)
    Glad to see you blogging again!

    1. Thanks, Megan, though kitty would like me to inform you that he is a she (and she agrees – the bell should go. I would take it off if she promised to stop eating birdies, but until that day….)

    1. Hi Donna! And thanks for your kind words about the photo – both of my cats are very willing models….:)

  5. Catherine, I stumbled upon your blog when I went into Goodreads, as I was so impressed by how much you read. Nothing like escaping into a good book. Love your blog, as that’s what it is at times, the struggle to make sense as a writer.

    1. Hi Diana! Nice to hear from you!

      And, I try to read as much as I can, both to improve my craft and just because, ya know? I figure it’s part of my job description πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

