For Sharing

I’ve been reading Natalie Goldberg’s WILD MIND: LIVING THE WRITER’S LIFE, because though I feel I’m finally starting to get the handle on all this plot and characterization and setting business, I realized a while ago I don’t know how to live this life. When I was making music, I knew how to take care of myself, how to water and feed my voice, how to nourish the music (also, I had teachers who taught me this stuff – thank you, all you teacherly types!).

As a writer, I’ve been struggling, and struggling in a profound way – how does one cultivate confidence, for example? I mean, confidence and I have never been close friends…or any friends at all, really. And, I know I’ve got to find that faith, but how? How, when the going is so hard that all I can think to do is become something else – anything else? Some days, garbage collection seems like a suitable career.

Anyhow, I came across something that helped today. Maybe it will help others too. It comes from the section called “Failure” in WILD MIND and it goes like this:

“Kindness. It stemmed from kindness. I have always been kind to myself in the area of writing. I know if I’m not kind, if I get too tough, I’ll get scared, close up, freeze.”

So, rather than word counts, this is what I’m currently working on with my craft. Kindness – to myself. Because goodness knows, this writing biz is hard enough all on its own…

free web page hit counter

One thought on “For Sharing

Leave a Reply

