Changing Things Up

So. I’ve taken up running.

Up until recently, riding horses has been my exercise, and before anyone says ” But doesn’t the horse do all the work?”, yes, and no. Some studies have shown that riders who are in serious work with their horses burn upwards of 450 calories per hour (if you’re riding at a good working trot) – just sitting on a horse on a trail ride and letting it do all the work is something a little different (not that that isn’t therapeutic in its own way…)(and not that all trail rides are like this! Endurance riders, I’m looking at you)(Okay, I think I’ve convinced myself I haven’t offended anyone…I think…).

Anyhow, I digress…the thing is, I’m not riding, and haven’t done for almost a year. I just can’t afford it right now, but I need to do something, and running? Well, it’s cheap. Just need a pair of shoes, and go! Well, okay, not *quite* that easy, but I’ve got myself a run-a-5k program and a pair of nifty running shoes, and so far, so good.

I’ve also set myself a couple of goals. The first is that Dear Husband and I are registered in a walk/run 5k this September. Unlike me, the husband is a natural runner – once a year, he’ll say, “I’m going for a run”, and two hours later, he’ll arrive home, a little out of breath, and say, “So, I ran,” and that’s that. 5k for him is…easy. For me, not so much. I’m a fast twitch sort, built for speed, not endurance, but I’m determined. I need to do this – to prove to myself that I can set out to do something and finish it, even though it’ll hurt. Every time I’ve done that in my life, the success has given me a spirit boost, and everyone needs a little spirit boost now and again, dontcha think?

The other thing is a little carrot my sister and I are dangling in front of our noses. There’s a race we’d really like to do together. Whether we make it there, we’ll see, but the thing is, training for endurance activity is a lot (a lot!) like writing a novel. (Yes, you should have known there would be a writing metaphor in here somewhere.) Endurance, perseverance, and faith – all the ingredients one needs to make this particular cake.

My writing life has suffered a lot over the last couple of years for one reason or another, and I’ve been working on that, trying to reclaim what I lost (because, at the end of the day, it was me doing the losing, ya know?)(oh, and by losing, I mean losing my way, losing my confidence, that sort of thing). Running, for some surprising reason, seems to be helping with that. Maybe it’s just burning off calories and energy, or maybe it’s something just going, and giving myself permission to walk when I need to, and run when I want to. Dunno.

And, I want to ride again, and when I do, boy oh boy, I’m going to be in GOOD shape!

free web page hit counter

2 thoughts on “Changing Things Up

  1. Hi Cat! Yes, I’m doing the couch to 5k too. Just started week four, and man, yesterday’s run just about killed me. However – onwards! (And yes, start again – we can cheer each other on!)

Leave a Reply

