Revisiting Old Lessons

Back in my music school days, I used to worry about the strangest things (OMG, what fach am I? Why can’t I sing a high F? Do I have nodes? Should I drink milk?), and, if I was ever struck down by a cold or a sore throat or the plague, well, surely, the world was about to end.

And, like most singing students, I’d arrive at my lesson, moaning and groaning about my voice, my voice, oh woe, my voice!

And, my very patient and long-suffering teacher would inevitably deliver the following advice: You’re sick? Then, today, you will learn to sing when you’re sick.

And then, that’s what we’d do.

So, today, when I received news that I would suddenly be under a very tight deadline, I found myself in the kitchen, wondering if I should freak out or not. And, lo and behold, Karen’s voice wandered into my head: Today, you will learn how to write under a very tight deadline.

So, that’s what I’m gonna do.

And, Karen, since I don’t know where you are in the world these days, should you ever read this: thank you!

free web page hit counter

2 thoughts on “Revisiting Old Lessons

  1. Ooh, that Karen sounds like a very wise teacher (and you, a good student — yay for learning from past lessons!).

    Thinking of you as you learn this new thing. I know you’ll do just fine…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

