A Brief Thought about Critiques

Or, really, how to decipher and parse them after you get them.

This is what I’ve figured out works for me (‘cuz your mileage may vary). Feedback that’s useful and applicable to the work in question always gets my brain churning with new ideas and new possibilities and new ways to tell the story. Feedback that’s useful leaves me feeling ready to work, and excited to work. I love that.

And that is most recent writerly epiphany. Just figured I’d share, in case it helps anyone out.

And, as a bonus, because my mind is thinking about heading into the wilderness this summer, here’s a photo from one of my favorite wild spots, San Jo Bay, up on the tip of Vancouver Island:

San Jo Bay

free web page hit counter

2 thoughts on “A Brief Thought about Critiques

  1. Love that pic – glorious scenery.

    And the best advice I can give with receiving crit – don’t read it at the start of the working day, because you’ll get nothing done after you sink into the pit of depair. Rather read before bed so you can sleep on it. – at least, that’s what works for me.

    1. Isn’t that place beautiful? That day, we watched ospreys fishing in the cove once the tide came in. Of course, that’s also where a cougar staked out our camp (one of the scariest nights of my life!)… Even so, I’m hoping to go back this summer – didn’t get there last year.

      And yes, sleeping on a critique is always a good idea! It’s amazing what a good night’s sleep can do….

Leave a Reply

