And there was….a launch!

So, yesterday was Launch Day and it was FUN! I was nervous (more nervous than I anticipated I’d be) but there were so many lovely smiling faces in the audience that I pretty quickly forgot about nerves and just enjoyed chatting about SHADOWS CAST BY STARS and about the stories behind the book. It’s not easy for me to be front and center, but on this day, I was really glad to celebrate bringing this book into the world, and I was SO thrilled by everyone’s support.

So, photos!

Author! With books!

Books!

Cake! (Which, actually, is cupcakes iced like a cake. The lovely River Writers also brought cupcakes, decorated a fab blue, but they got eaten before a photo could be taken…)

Cake!

Signing! (That’s my Gramps I’m talking to…)(Also, since this is a learning experience, I learned that I like signing. The presenting is hard for me – I’m always slightly (okay, maybe a bit more than slightly) terrified that I’ll say the wrong thing (which is why I write, because on paper I can think, is that what I really mean? Yes? No? Okay, let’s think about that again. But talking? Once it’s out of your mouth, that’s it! No chance for revision!) But signing? Signing is fun!

Signing!

And, writers! These are the lovely ladies of the River Writers, who have been so supportive as I struggled my way through the writing of SHADOWS CAST BY STARS. Thank you so much for celebrating with me!

River Writers!

And since I am thanking folks, I also want to send a HUGE thank you to Amy Jacobsen, my publicist at Simon and Schuster Canada, who helped put this all together.

And, a HUGE thank you to in Courtenay. I’ve been visiting this bookstore since I was a kid, and it was a huge joy to step through the door yesterday and be greeted by my book. Thank you so much to Evelyn and her team for their enthusiasm and support. I couldn’t have done it without you! And, just as nothing can replace the smell of a good book, nothing can replace the pleasure of stepping into an indie bookstore.

Taking a story from seed to book is a long, arduous journey, with some sky-scraping peaks and some gloomy valleys. But, the journey – what a journey it has been! Thanks to everyone who has shared it with me. I am very fortunate to know you all!

And now, two more days to go until my little book takes flight into the great wild yonder. Remember, release day (June 5!) means giveaways, so stay tuned!

free web page hit counter

13 thoughts on “And there was….a launch!

    1. Oops, thanks, Shari! Link all fixed!

      And I was so glad you were there, too – I can’t thank you enough for everything, including the number of times you read SHADOWs!

  1. I wish I could have been there. Can I get away with saying I sent my representative… Shari??? 😉 , I’m glad to see the pictures and know that the day went well, and once again I wish you heaps of good luck as SHADOWS CAST BY STARS makes its way into the world.

    1. Thank you for sending your representative! And thank you for all the good luck – it’s been a long road, but well worth it!

  2. Yahoo! You look so happy and beautiful, Catherine. I’m so glad you posted pictures since I so very much wanted to be there but couldn’t. CONGRATULATIONS!!

    1. Thanks, Mara! Wish you could have been there, too – maybe for the next one! (That’s me thinking positive! Hee!)

      1. Well I was there in spirit – that sorta counts 😉 And of course there’ll be a next one!!! 😀

    1. Thank you so much! I was pretty nervous before hand, but once I go there and saw so many smiling faces, I was able to relax. And yes, FUN! 🙂

  3. So happy for you, Cat! I wish I could’ve been there. You looked fabulous, and I’m so happy you could have your book launch in a bookstore that is special to you! Looking forward to more journeying with you! xo

    1. Thanks, Rose! It was a really nice way to send my book out into the world, and now, on to something new! Thank you so much for all your support 🙂

Leave a Reply

